Ah, the life of the Authenticollegiate.

Salutations! 🙂

Sorry sorry sorry for the sporadic posting lately! This past week has been a whirlwind of events, what with  the difficulty of trying to put together a non-skanky Halloween costume, the start of NaNoWriMo, and also some kind of sad news from my family, but more on that later. Let’s get to the highlights of the last week. Shall we? I think we shall!

Knowing full well that Halloween is where the female species tends to go mad wild in showing some leg and passing it off as a clever costume as a means to attract the male species, Marissa, Claire (Marissa’s roommate), Jordan (one of my roommates) and myself decided to pull a Robert Frost and take the Road Less Traveled. No, we didn’t pull on sweats and pull out the tub of Ben and Jerry’s and go as “Single Ladies” to our school-wide Halloween party. Sure, we still showed a decent amount of leg but we still tried to keep it classy.

Enter stage left, the Classiest Costumes Made Out of Pillowcases Ever:

HALLOWEEN 006

Oh, and my weave. That also deserves an honorable mention for providing me with a majestic ‘do for about 2 hours and then promptly and not gracefully turning straight into Mulletville. Oh well, you win some you lose some with putting on another person’s hair for the night. Am I right or am I right?

 

HALLOWEEN 015

 

Collectively we all decided to be Greek goddesses. (L to R: Claire as Artemis (Chastity), her friend Taylor as a kitty!, Jordan as Gaia (Earth), Marissa as Flora (Flowerzzzz, dur), and yours truly as Thalia (Comedy) )

Really, those dresses were made out of $1 pillowcases from the local goodwill, but we look like we’re worth more than a dollar, right?! Hey-ohhhh!

Marissa and I began our long night ahead (We literally danced from 10:30-4 in the morning. I ended up dancing more than I slept that night. My former spinster self is scoffing at such things!) with our classic Authenticollegiate “mixed drinks”, and since I’m no Paula Deen this recipe was perfect for me:

-~2-3 cups of Pre-made coffee, chilled over night.

-1 packet of the super delicious Land O’ Lakes Hot Chocolate mix (Peppermint flavor)

Mix them together. Do not be afraid of how it looks at first. It will be as clumpy as a mudslide in the middle of the summertime. Put it in the microwave ( a college kid’s best friend) for about a minute or so and stir until it’s at a pleasing consistency. Divide into two glasses filled with ice. Feel free to smile. You’re about to drink something that will help you shake your groove thing until the early morn. Also, if you are of the sort that is a Paula Deen, feel free to add 1 whole stick of butter to the recipe above.

HALLOWEEN 019

Hence why my face is so daggone goofy in this picture! I guess I was attempting to stay in character?!

And so after sleeping five glorious hours after dancing for six and a half, Homegirl over here was HUNG-RAY. I proceeded to eat peanut butter on everything, as was expected and then began NaNoWriMo! 

National Novel Writing Month is a fun, seat-of-your-pants approach to novel writing. Participants begin writing November 1. The goal is to write a 175-page (50,000-word) novel by midnight, November 30.

Valuing enthusiasm and perseverance over painstaking craft, NaNoWriMo is a novel-writing program for everyone who has thought fleetingly about writing a novel but has been scared away by the time and effort involved.

Because of the limited writing window, the ONLY thing that matters in NaNoWriMo is output. It’s all about quantity, not quality. The kamikaze approach forces you to lower your expectations, take risks, and write on the fly.

Why am I doing this, you may ask? It’s partially late-teen year insanity, partially because of my overly ambitious nature and partially because well, why not? I’ve had an idea for a novel a-bubblin’ in my brain for quite some time now and figured this was the perfect time to start. Sure, I may be at risk for failing my first academic contract at school, but at least I’m doing I’ll be spending this month at the seat of my pants which I’m totally accustomed to doing! 🙂 I apologize ahead of time if posts aren’t daily as they have been as this competition suggests you write about 1-2 hours a day in order to be able to complete it in a month. Here goes nothing! I’ll be sure to divulge some more information about my novel-child as it unravels!

And now we come to the segment in my monologue when I tell you what has really been consuming my time away from you, oh fair blog readers.

Ra Ra Riot, all thanks to my beloved, Marissa.

Call it a weak spot for prepster boys in argyle sweaters making cutesy and intelligent-sounding metaphors and references to literature (Why hello there, Vampire Weekend addiction of ‘08-‘09 and most likely ‘10) or whatever you care to call it. I have a sickness. Maybe one day they’ll find this blog and see my (clever?) reference to Robert Frost early on in this post and write me love songs galore? A girl can dream. Until that day I will be groveling at Marissa’s feet to grace me with my new obsession.

vampireweekend

I mean am I alone in getting weak in the knees when I see argyle-clad musicians surrounded by books?!  Is it sad that I’m currently wikipedia-ing the ages of the guys in Vampire Weekend to see if they are too old to date me? I’ll just leave it at this: I’ve listened to Ra Ra Riot’s song “Winter ‘05” approximately 57 times in the last 4 days when I first got the cd and 165 including all the other songs.

Oh, no. I’ll have to pull the “flake blogger” card out again. Vampire Weekend just came out with another free single for download on their website. So I guess I’ll be seeing you guys after January after their new CD comes out, then?

 

Only kidding! You can’t get rid of me that easy. 🙂

Questions of the day: What was your most favorite Halloween costume? What kind of boy makes you go weak in the knees?

Until later, friends.

Mackenzie

Leave a Reply

