IDK, my BFF Turgenev?

Hello, all! 🙂

Long time no see, right? I can explain, between my argyle-colored dreams involving the boys of Vampire Weekend (I’m single and willing to embark on a pseudo-intellectual love escapade with you, Vampire Weekend boys),

dfgdfd

(I’d like to title this photo “ Oh, shoot. They are standing in front of a chalkboard and acting intellectual. Excuse me while I get a tissue to wipe the drool off of my face”)

I’ve been getting all kinds of cozy with these wily little scamps instead:

IvanTurgenevTurgenev, aka “Turgie” ❤

and …

6a00d8341cd64753ef01156fc5643c970c-800wi Dostoevsky, aka “D-sky”.

Yes, I must give authors I write papers about alternate names as if they are rappers.

Nonetheless, I’ve missed you, blog reader(s) (Hey, Mom!). Although daydreaming about the rap careers of Turgenev and Dostoevsky is fun in itself (Although it would be a lot better if they wore argyle sweaters and wore plaid and madras), they only rap about existentialism, internalism, death and all that deep stuff. I don’t know about you, but I like my rap music derogatory and my rappers with gold grills, not creepy beards. Once again, Vampire Weekend boys, if you ever stumble upon this, please take note of my intellectual references and accept my marriage proposals.

In other news, I am officially 1/3 of the way done with my NaNoWriMo novel and 1/3 more pretentious-sounding than I was previously! I’m really liking it so far and am super pumped beyond belief that I’m not completely dreading the writing of it so far. Daggone it, I probably just jinxed it. Anyways, I’ll be sure to give you some more cryptic details once it’s done with for the month!

Also, BREAKING NEWS: Marissa is still alive! The mountain of books has not taken her yet!  Poor Marissa has two 20- page papers to finish by this week. She’s done with one, it was about that hunka hunk of burnin’ love, Odilon Redon, and still has one more until she is free from the paper’s toxic clutches:Odilon_RedonWhat can I say? She likes the quiet, artsy types who apparently like to wear skull caps? To each his own! 🙂

Until later, dears! Watch out for another blog post about how to spruce up that jail cell, I mean dorm room, of yours in the near future!

Question of the day: Who is your literary (or artist) crush?

I have  huge author crushes on Dave Eggers, Jonathan Safran Foer and a big time character crush on Ford Prefect  from The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy! 

Love love love!

Mackenzie.

Leave a Reply

