tunesday: songs to scream with glory.

I don’t know about you, but I tend to be that certain family member who goes a different route than most of my other family members. Going to an ultra liberal, extremely small liberal arts college, getting a Harry Potter tattoo, never keeping a job past the seasonal point, leaving that same college because it felt so completely wrong, and moving and then quickly coming back home, I’ve definitely gotten myself into pretty weird situations.

And I wouldn’t even come close to saying that I’m the black sheep. Not at all, as I have one of the most loving mother, brother, and extended family on the planet. I’d say I’m more like the sheep that has a couple of random misshapen spots on her legs.

But even being the sheep with spots tends to lead to some frustration and sometimes criticism doesn’t get taken easily. And I know I’m not the only one who feels that way. After yesterday’s incident involving a pretty rude anonymous commenter I made sure to have a good laugh (or five), put on my romper (that is the physical embodiment of love, methinks), and watched a good corny movie, and all was right in the world. Because to be honest, reading is like listening. Just don’t continue reading/listening if you don’t agree and it somehow makes you feel that writing rude, anonymous comments on my blog is a constructive way to voice this. If you don’t like what I’m writing then please, not even just for me, but for yourself, stop reading.I have plenty other people who enjoy this blog, and one comment won’t make me close up shop. And comments like that don’t even hurt they just make me laugh, make me feel like I want to prove someone wrong, and …

HELP ME GET THREE TIMES MORE PAGEVIEWS THAN I USUALLY DO.

THANKS, SUCKA!

But anyways, back to being the mature and sensible adult that I am (bahahahahaha), I thought I’d feature some favorite songs to sing, scream, and feel like you are a beastly person that can take on the world. ‘Cause you can. So download these songs (I’m working on how to put the actual mp3s on here, so you all can download them), blast them in your car, cubicle, or bathroom as you are showering and feel like a beast.

“Songs to scream with glory” playlist:

1. “A Better Son/Daughter”, Rilo Kiley

Lines to scream:

But you’ll fight and you’ll make it through/ You’ll fake it if you have to
And you’ll show up for work with a smile/ And you’ll be better
And you’ll be smarter /And more grown up /And a better daughter or son
And a real good friend /And you’ll be awake/ You’ll be alert
You’ll be positive though it hurts/And you’ll laugh and embrace all your friends
And you’ll be a real good listener/You’ll be honest/You’ll be brave
You’ll be handsome and you’ll be beautiful/You’ll be happy

2. “32 Flavors”, Ani Difranco

Although not necessarily a screaming song, still has some pretty cool lines to scream to:

and god help you if you are a pheonix/and you dare to rise up from the ash
a thousand eyes will smolder with jealousy /while you are just flying back

3.”Non, Je ne regrette rien”, Edith Piaf

An awesome song to scream to and pretend you can sing fluently in French to.

4. “Mykonos”, Fleet Foxes

Lines to scream:

You go/Wherever you go today/You go today
[x8]
(at the end)

5. “Hong Kong Garden”, Siouxsie and the Banshees

Lines to scream:

Um, the entire song? Please and thank you.

 

So don’t just sit there; go scream, act like a harpie, and make me proud!

 

P.S.

Leave a Reply

