tunesday: great covers, less great songs.

We all have our guilty pleasures, yes?

Oh, come on. Don’t lie. I saw you belting out “Wannabe” by Spice Girls in your car with an invisible microphone. And doing that hand thing Mariah Carey always does when she’s finna belt out a high note? You know what I’m sayin’!

Oh wait, that was me.

Oh, and then I drove by my ex-boyfriend’s parents.

Yeaaaaaaaah.

But anywhosit! I’ve recently stumbled upon a motherload of fantastic covers of what most would call “unrefined, crappy, mainstream” songs. Well, I fortunately do not wear pretentious pants and I don’t read thick novels in Starbucks with my hipster glasses on.

I mean, what?

But we all are entitled to our guilty pleasures. And our moments of invisible-microphone-using-belting-in-the-car-moments-ohmygodthere’smyexboyfriend’sparents- moments.

But in the meanwhile, if you’re still kind of ashamed of your closeted love of Britney Spears, here’s to a more socially acceptable covers of your favorite “crappy” songs!

1. “Womanizer”, Britney Spears (original)& Lily Allen (cover)

2.”Too Little, Too Late” by Jojo (original), Daniel Rossen (cover)

3. “Fools Rush In”, Um, who didn’t cover this song?! (original), She & Him (cover)

 

And that’s all she wrote! I’m off to a rehearsal for a musical, in which my big lines include “It’s a turtle!” and “I think my baby is dying. It hasn’t moved all day…”

Not even joking.

Have a lovely day, guys! 🙂

Question of the Day: What’s your favorite cover? What is your favorite “crappy” song? Who would you LOVE to have it covered by?!

3 thoughts on “tunesday: great covers, less great songs.

  1. COMPLETELY AGREE! They could cover “Never Gonna Give You Up”, by Rick Astley and still make it beautiful and not make you annoyed that you just got Rick-rolled.

Leave a Reply

