riding on a gravy train with biscuit wheels;

19 001

                   In the front row of the “Hollywood Rip Ride Crapyourpants” with my bro-bro. 2010.

…Like my brother would say, I’ve been riding “a gravy train on biscuit wheels”. Especially since he is here visiting for 2 weeks. And we got to go to the parks and nearly wet ourselves multiple times, he made fun of my Harry Potter nerdiness. And I made fun of him for screaming like a little girl on rollercoasters. The pansy.But it’s been a grand ol’ gravy train lately.

…My brother is here.

…I’ve been cahoots with an admissions counselor at my dream school.

Crossing my eyes, fingers, toes, legs, and arms over it.

…There’s a pot of chili in the crock-pot downstairs with my name on it.

Yann Tiersen IS COMING TO FLORIDA. If you have not heard of this magnificent man, please educate yourself and listen to this song. You will swoon. So hard. I just cannot even describe how much I adore him. His music got me through college paper writing, studying for AP exams in high school, and most of my bike rides throughout ages 15-19.

…I’ve come to accept my place right now. That Orlando is where I need to be right now. And it’s only temporary. For the most part, I am fine with it. But I have so many friends who view Orlando as a place for failure, complacency, and just “giving up and going back to live with your parents”. Which has really been a broken record, repeating itself in my brain.  But for me, I’ve come to two realizations: 1. A place does not determine success or failure, happiness or sadness. And you’re a fool if thinking that going to New York or LA will determine whether you are successful or not. I know tons of people who live in Winnipeg, Montana, Idaho, etc. who are successful. 2. Home is anywhere. Not a place. But where you have people who don’t mind looking at wedding dresses with you. Will watch “Princess Diaries” and “Amelie” with you no matter how many times they have had to watch it with you. Will plan elaborate dinner parties with you on random Tuesday nights. For no reason whatsoever.

So I guess I’m pretty lucky. I feel like I have more homes than most rappers.

And that just adds to this “riding on a gravy train with biscuit wheels feeling”.

xo m.

currently listening to ‘ginette’// yann tiersen.

p.s. ain’t this precious? i don’t think i’ve ever had a photo of my brother and i where we don’t look like we are about to go ape$h!t on eachother .or wrestle  each other. it makes me wanna go “dawwwwwwwww”.

19 002

Leave a Reply

