magic and failure, two necessities;


 

 
“It is impossible to live without failing at something, unless you live so cautiously that you might as well not have lived at all – in which case, you fail by default.”

I’m not the sort of person who wishes failure upon someone, but I do now. But with good reason. J.K. Rowling knows what I am talking about.

I hope you have the ability to live without a debilitating sense of caution that holds you back from that word that has been made nasty by people motivated by only thoughts of success. I hope you fail a bit, fall down, and learn to get back up. Because you can. I’ve done a lot better with a few new scratches and bruises, a lot of sloppily made decisions, and plans that have fallen through. In fact, I’d rather have tons of scratches on me than to go about my day fearing I might shatter like porcelain.

Because that’s where the magic is.

 

2 thoughts on “magic and failure, two necessities;

  1. ahhh wordpress drives me nuts–they seem to make it so hard to leave a comment. okay, not that i’ve needlessly complained (working on this in the new year). love jk. love this speech. thanks for passing it on and reminding me. and love your letter below!

    • aw, you are too sweet! i know, isn’t she just the greatest? i wish she were my wise aunt who could teach me about life and failure, and creativity and all things magical. a girl can dream, right?

      thanks! i can’t lie and say that you haven’t inspired my own letters to my future man-candy just a tid-bit 🙂

Leave a Reply

