{top reads} lately pt 1;

i’ve been more into reading than writing on this space, i can admit to that. you know when you get into those moods when every book you pick up is just absolutely amazing?! i mean, i picked up a book on sanford meisner’s acting methods and i am acting like a little schoolgirl over it. i’m blaming sanford meisner on my lack of words. homeboy’s got some mad crazy theories.

southwest library, YOU ARE NOT  IT GETTING BACK! not until i finish my sanford meisner shrine. only until then. okay?

but other than the fifteen books currently inhabiting my bedside ledge, these books have been what i’ve fallen for lately:

“one day” by david nicholls.

"you’re gorgeous, you old hag, and if i could give you just one gift ever for the rest of your life it would be this. confidence. it would be the gift of confidence. either that or a scented candle"

i love david nicholls. i feel like he is the writerly nephew of my other favorite witty british man, nick hornby . especially since he wrote my other favorite, “starter for ten”.  this book totally broke my heart a wee little bit.  it’s such a lovely not-as-corny-as-it-seems-romantic comedy about one day each year where it visits the love and friendship between emma morley and dexter mayhew, starting on the morning after they graduate college. say you didn’t fall for dexter mayhew in the littlest bit and i will call you a heartless cyborg and call shenanigans. try me. just try me.

“battle hymn of the tiger mother” by amy chua

 

"unlike western parents, reminding my child of lord voldemort didn’t bother me."

amy chua. oh, amy chua. this was probably one of the most eye-opening bits of non-fiction i’ve read in a while. it took me a while to finally read it because of the controversy over it and whether or not i felt this woman deserved my money. but by the time i finished this book i was actually glad i shelled out the 12 dollars to amazon to get it on my kindle. amy is unabashedly honest in her parenting tactics, her opinions of “western” and “eastern” parenting styles (in quotes because even chua doesn’t think western and eastern parents necessarily parent a certain style or with a certain harshness or laxness). i grew up as a little girl who didn’t have very harsh parents (my mom would’ve been proud if i came home with straight c’s) , but instead i was the one who put intense amounts of pressure on myself in school to do well (which is why my mother calls me her “little asian child”) and i found this to be a super interesting book on the nature of parenting and culture and how someone like chua could be humbled by her own 13 year old. even if you don’t agree with her (which is easy to do), you can’t deny that her hilarious honesty  admirable.

“eating animals” by jonathan safran foer.

"not responding is a response – we are equally responsible for what we don’t do."

okay. so i’m more than a little bit biased on this book. besides my veganism, i’m also completely crushing on jonathan safran foer. wait, no. that’s an understatement. i’ve had a crush on this man since i was fifteen and read “everything is illuminated” (i have a soft spot for bespectacled, wordy boys. and eastern europe. and i’ll just leave it at that). but besides j-saf’s (yes, i call him that in my head) cuteness, this book really went a lot more in depth than i thought it would. it was graphic, disturbing at times, and extremely eye-opening to me, which is saying something because i’ve seen a lifetime’s worth of peta videos and cling very tightly to my copy of “the omnivore’s dilemma” and “food inc.” what started out as a means to research just what his newborn son would be consuming and the state of mainstream farming and food in the united states, comes this book that really will make you change the ways you look at food. and if it doesn’t you will come out with a raging crush on my boy j-saf.

“juliet, naked” by nick hornby

“for the best part of 40 years she had genuinely believed that not doing things would somehow prevent regret, when, of course, the exact opposite was true."

oh, how i love nick hornby, as i’ve stated before. every single sentence this man writes down is so hilarious that i was cautious to read this book anywhere in public. i started reading this book when i was waiting on a friend in boston and stepped into a bookstore to pass the time. my friend was an hour late and i ended up reading nearly a third of this book and i was hooked so bad that i immediately got it on my kindle, where i got snickers and weird glances from people on the t as i chuckled along to this book. it’s the story of annie and duncan, a couple who are seemingly falling out of love (and question whether they were even in love in the first place). it also correlates with tucker crowe, a washed up rock star from the eighties and nineties whom duncan is obsessed with and annie starts a secret email correspondence with quite accidentally. it’s so brilliantly funny and i loved how it made me think about taking chances and what it means to be comfortable.

sigh. i love books so much. what have you been reading lately?! i just started reading “the history of love” by nicole krauss (jonathan safran foer’s wife. pardon me while i go shout expletives around my house) and it’s really lovely.

5 thoughts on “{top reads} lately pt 1;

  1. I’ll definitely have to check some of these out. I’ve been needing new books to read. As for you, if you have not already, read Weetzie Bat, by Francesca Lia Block. I have a feeling you will love it muchly. Cheers, my dear!

    • oooh i haven’t! i’ll definitely have to check it out soon 🙂 i’m going on a trip soon so i’m in good-book-hoarding zone 🙂 thanks for the recommendation, deary!

  2. I have One Day kicking around the house somewhere and fully intend to read it this summer, thanks for the little review!

    I got halfway through Memoirs of a Survivor by Doris Lessing but then I came home for a week and forgot to bring it, so I’m now reading The Kraken Wakes by John Wyndam.

  3. i miss reading sooooo much. i just don’t have much time for it in my schedule 😦

    however, if i do, i am reading each and every one of these books. i swear.

Leave a Reply

