{feed the mackenzies} vegan cinnamon apple crisp;

as we have already established, food is very important to me.

 i daydream about future parties i will plan and the menus that go along with it. (chocolate cherry cupcakes for valentine’s day. pumpkin chocolate chip cupcakes with maple frosting for thanksgiving)  i mean, they didn’t make me emerson’s quidditch world cup team mom for nothing? homegirl has some menu-planning skillz. and a significant lack of shame. but that’s another story.

in a way, this recipe is a tester for the feast that my lovely blog-friend maya and i will be feasting on just a few short weeks from now. in fact, we had a pretty intense g-chat about said feast.  here are some of the gems. enjoy:

Maya: I LOVE ANYTHING AND EVERYTHING CUSTARD RELATED

me: i just want to jump into a large vat of it

dude

Maya: RIGHT

I COULD SWIM IN CUSTARD

AND JUST BATHE IN IT

me: kjdghkjdhj yessss

put it in an iv pleaaase

me: if they made earl grey custard

i would no longer need men in my life

like

Maya: men are so finicky

custard is not

me: i would just order a huge life’s supply of it

and get myself to a nunnery

which then led to the “official thanksgiving menu of outstanding glory 2k11”:

Maya: 1) field roast

me: UM YES PLEASE

Maya: 2) roasted brussels

3) coconut milk sweet potatoes with peanut butter

4) cranberry sauce? homemade?

me: 3) orgasmic mashed potatoes

me: 5) pumpkin cake with raspberry glaze

Maya: YAYAYAYAYAY starches

me: 6) pumpkin cupcakes with chocolate chips and maple frosting

7) HOMEMADE CORNBREAD STUFFING

me: 8 ) MAJOR NAP

Maya: me: 9) FOOD COMA

me: 10) MORE STARCHES.

me: 11) CUSTARD I.V.

as you can tell, i am very much a carb sympathizer. they always look so lonely, not being eaten by people trying to watch their figure. i’m just trying to find them a home, in my belly. that’s all.

broston 003edit

that being said, i  found some good homes for this cinnamon apple crisp.
filling:
8 apples, sliced and cored
juice of half a lemon
1 tbsp. corn starch
2 tsp. cinnamon
1/8 tsp each: nutmeg, allspice
pinch of cloves
1/2 c. maple syrup (awwwww yeaaaaaaaaah)

topping:
1.5 c. rolled oats.
1/3 c. all purpose flour
1 tsp. cinnamon
1/8 tsp. salt
2 tbsp. canola oil
2 tbsp. maple syrup
1 tsp. vanilla

1. for filling, combine all ingredients in an oven safe baking dish. cover with tin foil and bake that sucker for 25 minutes at 350 degrees.
2. while filling is baking, combine all topping ingredients in a separate bowl and set aside until filling is done baking.
3. remove tin foil from baking dish and add topping to the filling and continue baking for another 30 minutes.
4. allow the scents of a pottery barn catalogue fill your kitchen as you sip tea and admire your own domesticity. think about how lucky your future gentleman callers will be.
5. take the apple cinnamon dish of heaven out from your oven. decide that a tasty molten bowl of apple goodness and soy ice cream is exactly what you need in your mouth. try to pass off your tears of pain as tears of intense delight to your roommates.

totally believable.

6 thoughts on “{feed the mackenzies} vegan cinnamon apple crisp;

  1. ohmygosh, is there ANY WAY i can be in on this thanksgiving feast from heaven!?!? wwhhyyy am i all the way across the universe (well, country,but it’s practically the same thing)?????
    like always, eat some of everything for me, take pictures and write about it so i can pretend i was there.
    uhh. my belly is crying right now.

  2. I’m currently planning Christmas dinner, with the help of the MAJESTIC Nigella Lawson. http://www.nigella.com/

    Honestly, if she left the country I’d probably give up at life.

    By the way, are coconut milk sweet potatoes with peanut butter a real actual thing? Wut? I’ve heard of sweet potatoes and marshmallow and sort of gone … O_o but peanut butter and coconut? Explain.

Leave a Reply

